2 months ago
Huntington Bancshares Incorporated (NASDAQ:HBAN) dropped 5.55% to $15.82 on September 16, 2026, close to its 52-week low. The price movement was triggered by a profit warning at a Barclays conference. Huntington brought down its 2027 EPS guidance from above $1.90 to the range of $1.75-$1.83, and its 2026 net interest income growth from 39%-43% to roughly 35%. What matters more than these numbers is the reason behind them. Deposit costs are rising, and loan pricing is tightening, and it landed on the day the Fed delivered its first interest rate hike since 2023. The drop therefore raises the question: is this an oversold bank or the opening crack in regional-bank margins?
A well-run bank has just lowered its guidance, citing intense competition for deposits and loans. If Huntington feels the margin pressure, then it is likely that its peers feel the same. This explains why Fifth Third shares slid 4.1% on the same afternoon alongside the whole financials group. The Fed's new hike makes the environment more unfavorable for the group in the near term. While rate increases eventually lift ***** et yields, banks must immediately offer higher deposit yields to retain balances, squeezing net interest margins in the near term. Furthermore, accelerated commercial real estate loan payoffs reduced total earning ***** ets, though these early payoffs lower credit risk on the loan book.
The selloff leans too much into the reset. A move to $1.75-$1.83 from above $1.90 is a modest single-digit trim. Huntington sustains its profit as well as its operational performance. Loans reached $189 billion from $50 billion in 2015. Deposits touched $222 billion. And one of the company's biggest growth engines, value-added fee income, compounded at a 14% annual rate since mid-2024, with year-to-date growth near 32%. The income helps offset a notable portion of the spread pressure and offers a competitive edge against pure spread lenders.
A higher-for-longer rate environment carries trade-offs for commercial banks. It drives up deposit expenses, reflecting the margin pressure Huntington reported. It also expands loan yields as credit ***** ets reprice. Deposit beta determines the net effect by measuring how much of each benchmark rate increase the bank transfers to depositors. After the rate hikes, deposit costs typically rise further, so betting on a near-term peak takes some faith. A lower beta allows fee revenue to support earnings, whereas a higher beta keeps the squeeze sustained over multiple quarters.
#bank #interest #Growth
A well-run bank has just lowered its guidance, citing intense competition for deposits and loans. If Huntington feels the margin pressure, then it is likely that its peers feel the same. This explains why Fifth Third shares slid 4.1% on the same afternoon alongside the whole financials group. The Fed's new hike makes the environment more unfavorable for the group in the near term. While rate increases eventually lift ***** et yields, banks must immediately offer higher deposit yields to retain balances, squeezing net interest margins in the near term. Furthermore, accelerated commercial real estate loan payoffs reduced total earning ***** ets, though these early payoffs lower credit risk on the loan book.
The selloff leans too much into the reset. A move to $1.75-$1.83 from above $1.90 is a modest single-digit trim. Huntington sustains its profit as well as its operational performance. Loans reached $189 billion from $50 billion in 2015. Deposits touched $222 billion. And one of the company's biggest growth engines, value-added fee income, compounded at a 14% annual rate since mid-2024, with year-to-date growth near 32%. The income helps offset a notable portion of the spread pressure and offers a competitive edge against pure spread lenders.
A higher-for-longer rate environment carries trade-offs for commercial banks. It drives up deposit expenses, reflecting the margin pressure Huntington reported. It also expands loan yields as credit ***** ets reprice. Deposit beta determines the net effect by measuring how much of each benchmark rate increase the bank transfers to depositors. After the rate hikes, deposit costs typically rise further, so betting on a near-term peak takes some faith. A lower beta allows fee revenue to support earnings, whereas a higher beta keeps the squeeze sustained over multiple quarters.
#bank #interest #Growth
2 months ago
Sept 16 (Reuters) - Top U.S. banks raised their prime lending rate on Wednesday after the Federal Reserve lifted its benchmark interest rate, a move that would increase borrowing costs for consumers and businesses with loans.
Following the Fed's first rate hike since 2023, the prime rate of JPMorgan , Bank of America, Citigroup, Wells Fargo, KeyCorp, Huntington Bancshares, Fifth Third Bancorp and Truist Financial from Thursday will rise to 7% from 6.75%.
The Fed raised rates by a quarter of a percentage point on Wednesday and flagged further increases in borrowing costs in the coming months as policymakers focus on addressing persistent inflation.
Shares of big banks ended lower amid broader weakness in U.S. stocks. BofA closed down 2.7%, Citi 2.4%, Wells Fargo 3%, and JPMorgan 1%. Morgan Stanley slipped 1.9% and Goldman Sachs fell 4%.
The prime rate, which follows the federal funds rate, is used by U.S. banks as a reference for setting rates on many financial products such as credit cards and personal loans.
#prime #jpmorgan #raised
Following the Fed's first rate hike since 2023, the prime rate of JPMorgan , Bank of America, Citigroup, Wells Fargo, KeyCorp, Huntington Bancshares, Fifth Third Bancorp and Truist Financial from Thursday will rise to 7% from 6.75%.
The Fed raised rates by a quarter of a percentage point on Wednesday and flagged further increases in borrowing costs in the coming months as policymakers focus on addressing persistent inflation.
Shares of big banks ended lower amid broader weakness in U.S. stocks. BofA closed down 2.7%, Citi 2.4%, Wells Fargo 3%, and JPMorgan 1%. Morgan Stanley slipped 1.9% and Goldman Sachs fell 4%.
The prime rate, which follows the federal funds rate, is used by U.S. banks as a reference for setting rates on many financial products such as credit cards and personal loans.
#prime #jpmorgan #raised
2 months ago
Broyhill **** et Management, a Charlotte-based firm, issued its second-quarter 2026 investor letter, which is available for download here. The Broyhill Equity Composite gained 8.8% in Q2, trailing the MSCI All Country World Index's 15.1% and the MSCI ACWI Value Index's 10.8%. For the first half, the Composite returned 2.3%, versus 11.5% for the Index. The letter highlights that a significant portion of the shortfall occurred in April due to market dynamics and geopolitical events, with tech, particularly semiconductors, driving recent gains. Broyhill notes its lack of direct semiconductor exposure but acknowledges potential interest in the sector if opportunities arise, maintaining its investment philosophy focused on capital protection in fragile market conditions. Also, check the fund's top five holdings to see its best picks in 2026.
In its second-quarter 2026 investor letter, Broyhill **** et Management highlighted First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA). First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) operates as the holding company for First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, providing retail and commercial banking services. On September 14, 2026, First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) closed at $2,173.88 per share. Over the past month, First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) declined 1.03%, but its shares are up 17.10% over the past year. First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) has a market capitalization of $24.55 billion, and its stock has traded within a 52-week range of $1,623.76 to $2,296.30.
Broyhill **** et Management stated the following regarding First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) in its Q2 2026 investor letter:
"First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA), initiated in June, is a well-run company which we believe to be undervalued and with catalysts on the horizon. The company has retired almost 20% of its Class A shares since July 2024, and inside its roughly $25 billion market capitalization sits a rail leasing fleet of approximately 128,000 cars valued by the market at bank multiples. Management has proven themselves highly competent and highly aligned with shareholders, with the Holding family in key executive positions, owning over 20% of the economics and controlling roughly half the vote through their Class B shares. Much of what we are waiting on has a date attached to it: two separations have completed, and Masco and First Citizens are retiring shares at a pace that improves per-share value whether or not the multiples change."
#fcnca #market
In its second-quarter 2026 investor letter, Broyhill **** et Management highlighted First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA). First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) operates as the holding company for First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, providing retail and commercial banking services. On September 14, 2026, First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) closed at $2,173.88 per share. Over the past month, First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) declined 1.03%, but its shares are up 17.10% over the past year. First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) has a market capitalization of $24.55 billion, and its stock has traded within a 52-week range of $1,623.76 to $2,296.30.
Broyhill **** et Management stated the following regarding First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) in its Q2 2026 investor letter:
"First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA), initiated in June, is a well-run company which we believe to be undervalued and with catalysts on the horizon. The company has retired almost 20% of its Class A shares since July 2024, and inside its roughly $25 billion market capitalization sits a rail leasing fleet of approximately 128,000 cars valued by the market at bank multiples. Management has proven themselves highly competent and highly aligned with shareholders, with the Holding family in key executive positions, owning over 20% of the economics and controlling roughly half the vote through their Class B shares. Much of what we are waiting on has a date attached to it: two separations have completed, and Masco and First Citizens are retiring shares at a pace that improves per-share value whether or not the multiples change."
#fcnca #market
2 months ago
Broyhill ******* et Management, a Charlotte-based firm, issued its second-quarter 2026 investor letter, which is available for download here. The Broyhill Equity Composite gained 8.8% in Q2, trailing the MSCI All Country World Index's 15.1% and the MSCI ACWI Value Index's 10.8%. For the first half, the Composite returned 2.3%, versus 11.5% for the Index. The letter highlights that a significant portion of the shortfall occurred in April due to market dynamics and geopolitical events, with tech, particularly semiconductors, driving recent gains. Broyhill notes its lack of direct semiconductor exposure but acknowledges potential interest in the sector if opportunities arise, maintaining its investment philosophy focused on capital protection in fragile market conditions. Also, check the fund's top five holdings to see its best picks in 2026.
In its second-quarter 2026 investor letter, Broyhill ******* et Management highlighted First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA). First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) operates as the holding company for First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, providing retail and commercial banking services. On September 14, 2026, First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) closed at $2,173.88 per share. Over the past month, First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) declined 1.03%, but its shares are up 17.10% over the past year. First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) has a market capitalization of $24.55 billion, and its stock has traded within a 52-week range of $1,623.76 to $2,296.30.
Broyhill ******* et Management stated the following regarding First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) in its Q2 2026 investor letter:
"First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA), initiated in June, is a well-run company which we believe to be undervalued and with catalysts on the horizon. The company has retired almost 20% of its Class A shares since July 2024, and inside its roughly $25 billion market capitalization sits a rail leasing fleet of approximately 128,000 cars valued by the market at bank multiples. Management has proven themselves highly competent and highly aligned with shareholders, with the Holding family in key executive positions, owning over 20% of the economics and controlling roughly half the vote through their Class B shares. Much of what we are waiting on has a date attached to it: two separations have completed, and Masco and First Citizens are retiring shares at a pace that improves per-share value whether or not the multiples change."
#first #fcnca
In its second-quarter 2026 investor letter, Broyhill ******* et Management highlighted First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA). First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) operates as the holding company for First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, providing retail and commercial banking services. On September 14, 2026, First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) closed at $2,173.88 per share. Over the past month, First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) declined 1.03%, but its shares are up 17.10% over the past year. First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) has a market capitalization of $24.55 billion, and its stock has traded within a 52-week range of $1,623.76 to $2,296.30.
Broyhill ******* et Management stated the following regarding First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) in its Q2 2026 investor letter:
"First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA), initiated in June, is a well-run company which we believe to be undervalued and with catalysts on the horizon. The company has retired almost 20% of its Class A shares since July 2024, and inside its roughly $25 billion market capitalization sits a rail leasing fleet of approximately 128,000 cars valued by the market at bank multiples. Management has proven themselves highly competent and highly aligned with shareholders, with the Holding family in key executive positions, owning over 20% of the economics and controlling roughly half the vote through their Class B shares. Much of what we are waiting on has a date attached to it: two separations have completed, and Masco and First Citizens are retiring shares at a pace that improves per-share value whether or not the multiples change."
#first #fcnca
2 months ago
First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA), through its First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company subsidiary, completed the acquisition of 138 BMO Bank N.A. branches on September 4. The locations span 11 states across the Midwest, Great Plains and West.
The completion announcement did not disclose final transferred balances. At the announcement, First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) expected to ****** ume approximately $5.7 billion of deposits and acquire $1.1 billion of loans. Its July 2026 update lowered those estimates to $5.3 billion and $700 million, respectively. Both estimates imply roughly $4.6 billion of net liquidity. That difference represents funding capacity, not transaction income, and remains subject to final balances and acquisition accounting.
The deposit franchise could be the transaction's most valuable ****** et. At announcement, the acquired deposits carried a weighted average rate of 1.43%, with 21% in noninterest-bearing demand accounts. First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) reported a 2.07% average total deposit cost in the second quarter of 2026. Retaining the acquired accounts near their original pricing could lower the consolidated funding cost.
The 138 branches also establish or deepen a presence across 11 states. The original transaction presentation identified approximately $1.0 billion of wealth ****** ets under management, creating opportunities to cross-sell commercial lending, treasury services, and wealth products. Retaining branch personnel could help preserve local relationships.
First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) can deploy the surplus funding in several ways. As of June 30, 2026, the company held $151.03 billion of loans and $32.19 billion of borrowings, including a $28.42 billion purchase money note owed to the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. The acquired liquidity could support loan growth, replace more expensive funding, or be invested in securities. The original presentation projected immediate earnings-per-share accretion and an approximately 27-basis-point reduction in the Common Equity Tier 1 capital ratio.
#billion #first #citizens
The completion announcement did not disclose final transferred balances. At the announcement, First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) expected to ****** ume approximately $5.7 billion of deposits and acquire $1.1 billion of loans. Its July 2026 update lowered those estimates to $5.3 billion and $700 million, respectively. Both estimates imply roughly $4.6 billion of net liquidity. That difference represents funding capacity, not transaction income, and remains subject to final balances and acquisition accounting.
The deposit franchise could be the transaction's most valuable ****** et. At announcement, the acquired deposits carried a weighted average rate of 1.43%, with 21% in noninterest-bearing demand accounts. First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) reported a 2.07% average total deposit cost in the second quarter of 2026. Retaining the acquired accounts near their original pricing could lower the consolidated funding cost.
The 138 branches also establish or deepen a presence across 11 states. The original transaction presentation identified approximately $1.0 billion of wealth ****** ets under management, creating opportunities to cross-sell commercial lending, treasury services, and wealth products. Retaining branch personnel could help preserve local relationships.
First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) can deploy the surplus funding in several ways. As of June 30, 2026, the company held $151.03 billion of loans and $32.19 billion of borrowings, including a $28.42 billion purchase money note owed to the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. The acquired liquidity could support loan growth, replace more expensive funding, or be invested in securities. The original presentation projected immediate earnings-per-share accretion and an approximately 27-basis-point reduction in the Common Equity Tier 1 capital ratio.
#billion #first #citizens
2 months ago
Donald Scott Rogerson, a Director at Equity Bancshares(NYSE:EQBK), purchased 2,000 shares of the company's Class A common stock on Aug. 21, 2026, according to a SEC Form 4 filing.
Metric
Value
Transaction value
$100,000
#Equity #bancshares
Metric
Value
Transaction value
$100,000
#Equity #bancshares
3 months ago
Keith Mansfield, executive vice president and chief operating Officer of b1Bank, reported a sale of 4,200 shares of Business First Bancshares (NASDAQ:BFST) on July 30, 2026, according to an SEC Form 4 filing.
Metric
Value
Shares sold
4,200
#july
Metric
Value
Shares sold
4,200
#july
3 months ago
Key takeaway: The Columbus, Ohio, company completed the Cadence system conversion in late June, which should serve as a springboard to higher growth in the third and fourth quarters, executives said.
Supporting data: The conversion gives Huntington much more control over and insight into more than 1.4 million deposit accounts acquired from Cadence.
Expert quote: "This was the largest conversion we've ever done. It was the fastest we've ever done, and it was the best we've done, at least in my tenure." — Huntington Chairman and CEO Steve Steinour
While higher funding costs left their mark on Huntington Bancshares' second-quarter results, the Columbus, Ohio-based company is forecasting a strong finish to 2026 now that its most recent merger-related conversion is complete.
Business should pick up in the third quarter before peaking during the final three months of 2026, Chief Financial Officer Zach Wasserman said Thursday on a conference call with **** ysts.
#conversion #huntington #we 've
Supporting data: The conversion gives Huntington much more control over and insight into more than 1.4 million deposit accounts acquired from Cadence.
Expert quote: "This was the largest conversion we've ever done. It was the fastest we've ever done, and it was the best we've done, at least in my tenure." — Huntington Chairman and CEO Steve Steinour
While higher funding costs left their mark on Huntington Bancshares' second-quarter results, the Columbus, Ohio-based company is forecasting a strong finish to 2026 now that its most recent merger-related conversion is complete.
Business should pick up in the third quarter before peaking during the final three months of 2026, Chief Financial Officer Zach Wasserman said Thursday on a conference call with **** ysts.
#conversion #huntington #we 've
3 months ago
Interested in Dime Community Bancshares, Inc.? Here are five stocks we like better.
Record Q2 results: Dime Community Bancshares posted record second-quarter revenue of $126 million, with core EPS up 23% year over year to $0.79. Net interest margin expanded to 3.28%, marking the bank's ninth straight quarter of margin growth.
Business lending is driving growth: Business loans grew 26% year over year, and management said the pipeline remains strong at about $1.4 billion. The bank expects low- to mid-single-digit loan growth in the second half while continuing to diversify away from multifamily exposure.
Credit, capital and buybacks: Credit trends were mixed but manageable, with nonperforming **** ets down 28% sequentially and the allowance to loans rising to 98 basis points. Capital levels improved, and management said it expects to resume share repurchases in the third quarter.
Time To Buy Regional Banks? Insider Buying Says Yes
#credit
Record Q2 results: Dime Community Bancshares posted record second-quarter revenue of $126 million, with core EPS up 23% year over year to $0.79. Net interest margin expanded to 3.28%, marking the bank's ninth straight quarter of margin growth.
Business lending is driving growth: Business loans grew 26% year over year, and management said the pipeline remains strong at about $1.4 billion. The bank expects low- to mid-single-digit loan growth in the second half while continuing to diversify away from multifamily exposure.
Credit, capital and buybacks: Credit trends were mixed but manageable, with nonperforming **** ets down 28% sequentially and the allowance to loans rising to 98 basis points. Capital levels improved, and management said it expects to resume share repurchases in the third quarter.
Time To Buy Regional Banks? Insider Buying Says Yes
#credit
4 months ago
With a market cap of $35.9 billion, Huntington Bancshares Incorporated (HBAN) is a $285 billion ***** et regional bank holding company, serving customers through more than 1,400 branches across 21 states. Through The Huntington National Bank and its affiliates, the company provides a comprehensive range of banking, payments, wealth management, and risk management solutions to consumers, businesses, corporations, municipalities, and other organizations.
The Columbus, Ohio-based company is set to announce its fiscal Q2 2026 results before the market opens on Thursday, Jul. 23. Ahead of this event, ***** ysts forecast HBAN to report an adjusted EPS of $0.39, a rise of 2.6% from $0.38 in the year-ago quarter. It has exceeded or met Wall Street's earnings estimates in three of the last four quarters while missing on another occasion.
Dear Microsoft Stock Fans, Mark Your Calendars for August 1
Heavy Advanced Micro Devices Call Options Volume Today - Is AMD Undervalued?
From Zero to $15 Billion, Qualcomm's AI Roadmap Gets a Boost From Modular Acquisition
The Columbus, Ohio-based company is set to announce its fiscal Q2 2026 results before the market opens on Thursday, Jul. 23. Ahead of this event, ***** ysts forecast HBAN to report an adjusted EPS of $0.39, a rise of 2.6% from $0.38 in the year-ago quarter. It has exceeded or met Wall Street's earnings estimates in three of the last four quarters while missing on another occasion.
Dear Microsoft Stock Fans, Mark Your Calendars for August 1
Heavy Advanced Micro Devices Call Options Volume Today - Is AMD Undervalued?
From Zero to $15 Billion, Qualcomm's AI Roadmap Gets a Boost From Modular Acquisition
5 months ago
Huntington Bancshares Incorporated (HBAN) provides commercial, consumer, and mortgage banking services. With a market cap of $35.5 billion, the company offers financial products and services to consumer and business customers, including deposits, lending, payments, mortgage banking, dealer financing, investment management, trust, brokerage, insurance, and other financial products and services.
Companies worth $10 billion or more are generally described as "large-cap stocks," and HBAN perfectly fits that description, with its market cap exceeding this mark, underscoring its size, influence, and dominance within the banks - regional industry. HBAN's strong Midwest presence and "Fair Play Banking" drive customer loyalty.
Dear Rocket Lab Stock Fans, Mark Your Calendars for June 22
Stay Away from Super Micro Computer Stock. It's Hostage to Its Own Mistakes.
Palantir Stock Is Down Nearly 30% in 2026. Here's What It Will Take to Turn Around.
Companies worth $10 billion or more are generally described as "large-cap stocks," and HBAN perfectly fits that description, with its market cap exceeding this mark, underscoring its size, influence, and dominance within the banks - regional industry. HBAN's strong Midwest presence and "Fair Play Banking" drive customer loyalty.
Dear Rocket Lab Stock Fans, Mark Your Calendars for June 22
Stay Away from Super Micro Computer Stock. It's Hostage to Its Own Mistakes.
Palantir Stock Is Down Nearly 30% in 2026. Here's What It Will Take to Turn Around.