First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA), through its First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company subsidiary, completed the acquisition of 138 BMO Bank N.A. branches on September 4. The locations span 11 states across the Midwest, Great Plains and West.
The completion announcement did not disclose final transferred balances. At the announcement, First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) expected to ****** ume approximately $5.7 billion of deposits and acquire $1.1 billion of loans. Its July 2026 update lowered those estimates to $5.3 billion and $700 million, respectively. Both estimates imply roughly $4.6 billion of net liquidity. That difference represents funding capacity, not transaction income, and remains subject to final balances and acquisition accounting.
The deposit franchise could be the transaction's most valuable ****** et. At announcement, the acquired deposits carried a weighted average rate of 1.43%, with 21% in noninterest-bearing demand accounts. First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) reported a 2.07% average total deposit cost in the second quarter of 2026. Retaining the acquired accounts near their original pricing could lower the consolidated funding cost.
The 138 branches also establish or deepen a presence across 11 states. The original transaction presentation identified approximately $1.0 billion of wealth ****** ets under management, creating opportunities to cross-sell commercial lending, treasury services, and wealth products. Retaining branch personnel could help preserve local relationships.
First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) can deploy the surplus funding in several ways. As of June 30, 2026, the company held $151.03 billion of loans and $32.19 billion of borrowings, including a $28.42 billion purchase money note owed to the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. The acquired liquidity could support loan growth, replace more expensive funding, or be invested in securities. The original presentation projected immediate earnings-per-share accretion and an approximately 27-basis-point reduction in the Common Equity Tier 1 capital ratio.
#billion #first #citizens
The completion announcement did not disclose final transferred balances. At the announcement, First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) expected to ****** ume approximately $5.7 billion of deposits and acquire $1.1 billion of loans. Its July 2026 update lowered those estimates to $5.3 billion and $700 million, respectively. Both estimates imply roughly $4.6 billion of net liquidity. That difference represents funding capacity, not transaction income, and remains subject to final balances and acquisition accounting.
The deposit franchise could be the transaction's most valuable ****** et. At announcement, the acquired deposits carried a weighted average rate of 1.43%, with 21% in noninterest-bearing demand accounts. First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) reported a 2.07% average total deposit cost in the second quarter of 2026. Retaining the acquired accounts near their original pricing could lower the consolidated funding cost.
The 138 branches also establish or deepen a presence across 11 states. The original transaction presentation identified approximately $1.0 billion of wealth ****** ets under management, creating opportunities to cross-sell commercial lending, treasury services, and wealth products. Retaining branch personnel could help preserve local relationships.
First Citizens BancShares, Inc. (NASDAQ:FCNCA) can deploy the surplus funding in several ways. As of June 30, 2026, the company held $151.03 billion of loans and $32.19 billion of borrowings, including a $28.42 billion purchase money note owed to the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. The acquired liquidity could support loan growth, replace more expensive funding, or be invested in securities. The original presentation projected immediate earnings-per-share accretion and an approximately 27-basis-point reduction in the Common Equity Tier 1 capital ratio.
#billion #first #citizens
11 hours ago